21 Days to Break the Binge Habit

Leave a comment

September 14, 2012 by Lindsey

I started 3 days ago on a mission to make it through 21 days being binge-free. It’s coincided with my resurrection of my Weight Watchers materials and my return to points counting.

As much as I’m hating keeping a food diary (Not sure why- does it just bring back past memories of being overly food-obsessed?), it does keep it REAL for me. I recognize how much over the top eating I’ve been doing for 2 or 3 months. The only place all that overeating (let’s be honest, bingeing) has gotten me is overweight. 

I learned yesterday that I’m on the cusp of the “obese” section of the BMI scale. That’s really frightening. I know, due to muscle mass an frame size, BMI can’t be the Dictator of Correct Body Size, but it’s a pretty reliable initial indicator of my health, especially compared with my BMI about a year ago, which was towards the lower end for my height. 

Sigh.

I have a lot of work to do. 

Days 1-3 went off pretty well staying on plan and binge free. Today has been harder. I didn’t eat a good lunch (just snacking throughout the afternoon) and I was on the go most of the day and off my schedule. I hate to be so regimented, but maybe that consistency will help me as I ease back into this plan. 

I know the first week is the hardest, I just don’t want to give in to the Binge Monster on Day 4. 

This evening (evening, the danger time) I overate my points by about 8. That’s been happening a few times over the past few days. I haven’t been eating Activity Points and I don’t really track Weekly Points, so I assume everything has balanced out okay so far, but I need to be careful.

I do not want a few messy slip ups to ruin a week’s worth of good progress on losing this weight.

I have a wedding to go to October 13th.

I would love to lose 10 pounds by then. 

I hope this week gets me on the path to that goal. 

Leave a Reply

