Cocoats: 1 Easy Microwave-Only Semi-Dessert Recipe from a Girl Who Hates to Cook

Leave a comment

September 14, 2012 by Lindsey

If you read my 5 Reasons I Hate Cooking, you know I’m no fan of messy recipes that require specialized equipment. I also hate washing dishes. These traits make for excellent chefs.

Not.

In my quest to break away from my cereal-and-milk portion distortion and chocolate chip habit, I’ve started making myself Cocoats: Dark Chocolate Cocoa Oats. I figure they’ll come in handy as the weather gets colder (ugh) and days get shorter (UGH) and darker (UGH!!!).

It’s not particularly sweet, but I like a pretty strong dark chocolate flavor. Sweeten up as you wish.

It takes under 5 minutes of prep time and as much ‘waiting’ time as you want. It’s a flexible, agreeable dish.

Cocoats: Dark Chocolate Oats

  • 1/3c old fashioned rolled oats (I use any old kind I have around; steel cut likely will not work)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (Love Trader Joe’s for carrying these at a reasonable price!)
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 2 tbsp (yep, TBSP) dark chocolate cocoa powder (I have Hershey’s Special Dark at home, but I would love to try it with a really high quality cocoa powder. Any suggestions?)
  • Warm water, between 1c to 1.5c? (Sorry, I don’t measure this, but you can’t mess it up)
  • Optional: vanilla extract, pinch of baking powder, splash or 3 of egg whites for a custardy taste
  • Optional, part 2: You could add in any blogosphere-friendly mix ins that you like: PB, AB, nuts, dried fruit, chocolate chips, coconut, banana, raspberries, anyone, everyone is welcome.

Really Complicated Instructions:

In a large enough bowl (large enough to prevent obnoxious oatmeal overflow (OOO!), small enough to fit in your microwave), mix the dry ingredients.

Add water to the dry mix. Stir.

Microwave for 2 minutes. (Watch for OOO issues).

Take bowl out. Stir a bit more.

Bowl back in. Microwave for 1-2 minutes (again, with the OOO).

Remove and tent with foil or cover with The Cooking Device Love of My Life (aside from the toaster oven)

Wait 30 minutes, one hour, 2 hours, as long as you forget about it.

When you return, stir a bit more. The oats should be thick, almost like a mix between chocolate pudding and oatmeal. I love chia seeds for that magical power.

Eat.

Leave a Reply

