Are No-Peel Hard Boiled Eggs Worth the Hard Labor?

6

October 5, 2012 by Lindsey

Because I don’t eat meat, I rely on eggs for a lot of my weight loss menu protein needs. I’ve never nailed down a good hard boiled egg technique, so sometimes they really drive me crazy! Still, you can count on me to eat eggs, in some form, 2 meals a day, if I’m at home.

I eat beans, too, but eggs I can eat a lot more of for fewer calories (points, if you’re like me doing Weight Watchers). I’m a volume girl- hence the overeating problem.

I also like to believe I have more meal options using eggs, but that’s probably because I don’t really like to cook…

Hard Boiled Eggs: Procedure Problems

Usually, for breakfast, I have 1 or 2 hard boiled eggs. I eat both whites and typically about 1/2 a yolk. I’ll also have a piece of fruit or some cottage cheese, depending on which gym class I’m doing later, how hungry (or, I’ll be honest, munchy) I am.

I don’t like to spend a lot of time at the stove, so I’ll hard boil about 10 eggs on Sunday for the week ahead. My issue is in the hard boiling technique–and its unpredictable, results that are terrible more frequently than I would prefer.

I am a scholar on this issue. I have researched the proper egg boiling technique and tried about 5 different methods that claim to be “the proper egg boiling technique” (all lies). I also tried varying the age of the eggs (which was what seemed to work best– the older the egg, the better the hard boiled result).

Once, I bought a little egg-shaped egg timer that you boil with the eggs to ensure proper done-ness.

egg timer

(works okay, but no miracle)

So, despite my efforts, I was still stuck with…

  • hard boiled egg yolks with green rings
  • shells that peeled in tiny pieces
  • shells that wouldn’t peel, leaving huge chunks of egg lost to the trash
  • under-done yolks (icky)

I nearly gave up in surrender.

Luckily, in addition to being a pretty poor hard boiled egg chef, I’m not a very good shopper. I would say I dislike cooking, but I hate shopping. I was very happy, then, to stumble upon this seemingly silly as-seen-on-TV product to distract/entertain me while buying a wedding present at Bed, Bath, and Beyond.

Meet “Eggies,” the solution (sort of) to my hard boiled egg woes:

eggies box

 

They were on super clearance, and I love a bargain to solve my problems, so I had to buy the box.

Then came The True Test:

At home, I opened up the box and found that each “eggie” consists of 4 different parts.

Uh oh. This seemed like a puzzle (which I don’t like) and a lot of things to wash (also don’t like).

There was an egg shaped base, an egg shaped top, a tiny hat, and a ring to secure the base and top together.

The Process:

I followed all the instructions (which I’m not known to do).

Assemble the Eggies. Coat Eggie parts in oil. Crack eggs and pour into Eggies. Season (aka pepper for me). Screw on the eggie top, ring, and tiny hat. Put enough water in the pot so that the Eggies float. Boil for something like 10-18 minutes.

eggies in the pot

Eggies boiling away

 

There was 1 instruction I did not follow precisely because this was an intense process for some eggs. You are supposed to coat the Eggie parts in oil by using an oil-soaked paper towel, not spraying the oil directly into the Eggies.

Screw that! I sprayed each Eggie and it worked fine and the world didn’t end.

When the timer ran out (I did about 15 minutes), I cooled the eggs on a plate, still in their Eggie bodies.

Eggies cooling before removing the hard boiled eggs

Eggies cooling before removal

The Results:

After a few minutes of cooling, while still warm but not hot enough to scald me, I was ready for the finished product.

Most importantly, the hard boiled eggs (no green ring, no undercooked yolk!) came sliding out of their Eggie bodies with a slight squeeze. No shell pieces, no lost egg
chunks. Hurrah!

The Bad Points:

The Eggies are a semi-solution. The process works well, but it is labor intensive. Start assembling (I assembled them wrong the first time), oiling, cracking, finish assembling, cooking, cooling, removing, washing. There was also some egg white leakage into the boiling water, probably because the plastic is flimsy and some parts don’t feel like the fit together perfectly.

The Decision: 

Hard boiled eggs no shells

Eggie-cooked hard boiled eggs

That process not ideal in my kitchen, but I do appreciate the results with no egg wastage. I also like not having to mess around with the ice bath. Saves time, water, and my hands from being frozen.

To wash the 9 zillion Eggie body parts, I put them all in a colander and rinsed with soapy water. Good enough for me! And that’s pretty much my vote for the Eggies as a whole!

6 thoughts on “Are No-Peel Hard Boiled Eggs Worth the Hard Labor?

  1. Interesting gadget, sounds like alot of work tho 😦

  2. Army Amy says:

    The eggies are so cute! And I kind of love that they are called eggies! I don’t like hard boiled eggs. In fact, I don’t know that I’ve ever attempted to make ’em. If I do, it looks like eggies are the way to go!*

  3. Hi, I used to have a lot of problems with peeling eggs until someone showed me what her son did after going to cooking school. Rather than cracking and peeling by hand, made one crack with the tip of a teaspoon, then insert the tip of a teaspoon and push it upwards. The shape of the teaspoon perfectly matches the curve of the egg so the spooni slides easily underneath the shell. Whole sections of just shell come off…no egg loss.

    • Lindsey says:

      In all my research, I’ve never heard of or tried this tip! I can’t wait to try it out! If I fail, I know I don’t belong in cooking school 😉

Leave a Reply

